WETSPOT SUMMER SERIES 2018-19

Handicap format and race calendar

HANDICAP FORMAT

As a result of feedback from the recent BGCC member survey and in an endeavour to introduce some different race formats, this summer we will conduct handicap races for most of the 2018-19 Wetspot summer series.

To mix things up, once a month we propose to do something different (tba soon). We’ll also have a break for the Christmas/New Year period. The dates for the series are in the calendar below. The handicap system will be based on your elapsed time over either the one lap (approx 4.7km) or two lap (approx. 9.4km) courses.

Handicap racing is exciting and usually provides close finishes. And because nearly everyone will finishes around the same time, this provides a better opportunity for paddlers to socialise at the post-event barbeque.

Starts will be at one minute intervals. The handicapper will set and adjust handicaps for each race. The handicapper’s decision on your handicap start time is final. Your start time for the next handicap race will be adjusted according to your finish time in your last race and the handicapper’s discretion. Finish times will be rounded down.

Fifty (50) points will be awarded to the first finisher, with descending points awarded for each subsequent finisher. Points will be awarded for both the short and long course finishers. You cannot carry your points across short and long courses. So if you are serious about winning, it is best to decide what distance you want to race at the start of the series.

Paddlers’ cumulative points will count towards the series prizes to be awarded at the club’s annual dinner.

  • First start (with slower paddlers off first) for the long course is at 5.55pm.

 

  • Second start (with slower paddlers off first) for the short course is at 6pm.

Those of you who paddle the series regularly will know that there is not a lot of time to get from work, race, BBQ and pack up. So we have had to introduce a time cutoff for the long course to get paddlers off the water at around the same time and to get everyone home at a reasonable hour.

The time cutoff for the long course is 1:10 hr. If you think you cannot paddle the long course distance under that time you are strongly encouraged to paddle the short course. If you decide to paddle the long course anyway, it is likely your time will not be recorded as the timekeepers will have packed up and gone barbequing.  

Paddlers will need to register their names and expected lap time (in minutes) BEFORE coming to the river. This will be needed only ONCE PER SEASON! You will, however, also need to register yourself in advance and, if you decide to paddle a double boat, your doubles partner as a new entry (including each time you change paddling partner).

To register, go to: https://www.webscorer.com/register?pid=1&raceid=123798&owner=1
If this is not going smoothly for you, then contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



WETSPOT SUMMER SERIES 2018-19 RACE CALENDAR

 

DATE

EVENT

Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Timetrial

Wednesday, 17 October 2018

Timetrial

Wednesday, 24 October 2018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 7 November 2018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Other event

Wednesday, 21 November 21018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 5 December 2018

Handicap race

Wednesday, 12 December 2018

Other event

CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR BREAK

 

Wednesday, 16 January 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday,23 January 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 30 January 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 6 February 2019

Other event

Wednesday, 13 February 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 20 February 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 27 February 2019

Handicap race

Saturday, 2 March 2019

PNSW Race 1, 2019 marathon series & State Marathon Championships, Canberra

Wednesday, 6 March 2019

Other event

Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 20 March 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 27 March 2019

Handicap race

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Other event